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GENERAL Q & A 

Q: What is an “Independent Film”? 
A: An Independent Film means a production of a film with a running time of at least 

75 minutes intended for commercial distribution to a motion picture theater, home 
video, television or via the internet. It must have a minimum budget of $1 million 
and be produced by a company that is not publicly traded and a publicly traded 
company does not own directly or indirectly more than 25% of the producing 
company. Only independent films can sell their tax credits.  

Q: If I had a project in the old program, shot one day, but didn’t finish the project 
(making it ineligible for the old program), would it be eligible for the new 
program? 

A: Since the 3.0 program is a completely different program, you are eligible to 
submit an application for the project in the new 3.0 program.  

Q: If principal photography cannot begin prior to receiving a Credit Allocation Letter 
(CAL) approval, what about pre-production spending? 

A: Pre-production spending before the CAL approval would not qualify for tax 
credits but is certainly allowed. When submissions are analyzed during Phase II 
of the application process, all budgeted prep time that will be incurred prior to the 
Credit Allocation date should be excluded.  

Q: Can a production begin principal photography outside of California before 
receiving a Credit Allocation Letter (CAL)? 

A: A production may begin filming outside of California prior to receiving a CAL.  
Principal photography in California before the CAL date would disqualify the 
project from the program. 

Q: If we spend less money than our estimated credit amount, will we be penalized? 
A: No, there is no penalty if your budget decreases, but you may be penalized if 

your Jobs Ratio is reduced after an audit of all your expenditures.  Please refer to 
the Program Guidelines for more information. 

Q: If our budget goes up, would we be eligible for the additional amount? 
A: No, productions are capped by the amount on the Credit Allocation Letter. 

http://film.ca.gov/wp-content/uploads/3.0-Program-Guidelines.pdf
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Q: Does 2nd unit or VFX work count as a principal photography day? 
A: “Principal photography days” means the number of days shot by the principal unit 

with the director and lead actors present. “Principal photography days” in 
California does not include the filming of primarily backgrounds, visual effects, 
action and or/crowd scenes by the second, stunt or visual effects units. 

Q: Can you define “Estimated Total CA 2ND Unit/Stunt/VFX Days”? For example, if 
we have $45k per episode for 2nd unit, I was counting this as one day per 
episode, correct? However, this is a 2nd unit day and not a separate full shoot 
day.  

A: These days do not qualify for bonus points so an exact count is not crucial.  

Q: Will the Narrative Statement on why we would like to shoot in California versus 
another location be used to make a decision as to whether a production will be 
granted approval for tax credits? 

A: No; however, a Detailed Narrative Statement will be requested in Phase II of the 
application process – It is a written statement which describes the extent to which 
the credit is expected to influence the choice of filming locations with respect to 
financial considerations. The statement should include other locales which have 
or would be considered in the absence of a tax credit.  

Q: If 50 projects apply and 10 are accepted, am I correct that these are the projects 
with the highest Jobs Ratio figures? 

A: The projects are ranked by Jobs Ratios in their categories. The projects with the 
highest Jobs Ratios will receive a tax credit reservation. Recurring television 
series have priority within the television category. 

Q: Regarding the insurance statement on proration of premiums for qualified dates, 
is there a specific way that dates are prorated?  Is it based on calendar days of 
the policy or is it based on overall shoot days?  

A: Insurance premiums are usually prorated 10% for pre-production, 70% for 
production and 20% for post-production. Alternatively, applicants may request a 
statement from their insurance brokers which would state the amount of premium 
proration. 
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A: The $1 million minimum spend refers to Qualified and Non-Qualified 
expenditures in California.   So ATL talent, although a non-qualified expenditure, 
would count toward your total production budget as long as their services are 
provided in California.  Overhead costs do not count towards the $1 million 
minimum spend requirement. 

Q: Are half-hour TV series eligible to apply for the California tax credit? Once they 
are in the program, are they eligible to stay in the program each year until the 
show is cancelled? 

A: Only half hour relocating shows with a minimum episode budget of $1 million can 
apply for the California Tax Credit Program. Once in the program, the series will 
become a recurring series and receive a 20% tax credit as long as credits are 
available. 

Q: Is a stop motion project eligible to apply to the Tax Credit Program? 
A: Yes, stop motion projects are eligible for the Tax Credit Program as stop motion 

photography is not part of the animation exclusion. Note: Projects cannot begin 
principal photography prior to acceptance and production must be completed 
within 30 months from the date the credit allocation letter is issued. 

Q: If a film project has come to a halt during preproduction/production as a result of 
the coronavirus pandemic, do Force Majeure conditions apply? 

A: In general, yes. Please refer to the Force Majeure section in the Program 
Guidelines. 

Q:  In Program 3.0, can we add the two-week Christmas and New Years Eve end-of-
year holiday extension to the 180-days start date requirement? 

A:  No, there is no exclusion for the last 2 weeks of the year. 

APPLICATION Q & A 

Q: Regarding the 75% spend test:  What if I am shooting a portion of the film in 
another state? 

A: Wages, goods and services must be prorated proportionately to accurately 
estimate your California spend.  Wages, rented or purchased items from 
California such as camera equipment, self–drive cars, production trucks, picture 
cars and the like must all be prorated if they will be used out of state for a portion 
of the schedule. Remember that the 75% spend test is based on total production 
spend – not just qualified expenditures. 

http://film.ca.gov/wp-content/uploads/3.0-Program-Guidelines.pdf
http://film.ca.gov/wp-content/uploads/3.0-Program-Guidelines.pdf
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Q: Why do I need to provide proof of funding? 
A: The production company must show a viable plan to finance the production with 

evidence that it has at least 60% of the financing in place.  The application 
requires a detailed listing of your funding sources and verification of this funding 
must be submitted upon request.  Acceptable forms of documentation include 
financing agreements with signed letter(s) on letterhead from your investor(s), 
stating the amount of funds secured from the investor along with a bank or 
brokerage statement which verifies the funds are on hand.  If you have concerns 
regarding confidentiality, please call the CFC to discuss. 

Q: Can I use a foreign production company taxpayer ID number?   My project is an 
independent production and we would be transferring the credits. 

A: A foreign corporation will need to register to do business in the state and obtain a 
California ID number issued by the California Secretary of State.  Here is the link 
to their website:  http://www.sos.ca.gov/business/be/fags.htm#form-question7  

Q: If my project is on the waitlist, can I revise my budget and credit estimation?  
A: The initial credit reservation cannot be increased, but a budget and 

corresponding schedule may be modified to more accurately reflect the 
anticipated production plan. 

Q: I understand that the contingency amount of up to 10% of all qualified 
expenditures can be added to the budget when figuring out the tax credit amount.  
Does the contingency get tagged as expenditures or can some of it be tagged as 
wages?   

A: Neither. Contingencies as well as bonds need to be set up as contractual 
charges on the top sheet  of the qualified expenditure budget – not a line item. 

PRODUCTION COMPANY FORMATION Q & A 

Q: Two different companies are financing my film and both members are partners in 
the production company.  Both of them have a tax liability in the state.  Do I need 
to provide the tax ID for both?  

A: We accept only one taxpayer ID on the application, which should be the tax ID of 
the company that is formed to produce the project. One thing to be aware of, 
however, is the disproportionate allocation rules governed by the IRS.  California 
conforms to IRS code section 704(b).  Applicants should consult their tax 
advisors with respect to allocating credits to investing entities. 

http://www.sos.ca.gov/business/be/fags.htm#form-question7
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Q: The project we are budgeting is below $10M.  We are setting up a separate LLC 
for this project which will be a subsidiary of a publicly traded company.  The LLC 
will not be publicly traded however.  Would this project qualify for the 25% credit?  
Could we then “sell” or transfer the tax credits to the publicly traded company for 
their tax liability in California? 

A: No.  If the LLC is owned wholly or partially (over 25%) by the publicly traded 
company, the project will only qualify for a 20% credit and must apply and a  
Non-Independent project.  In this case credits cannot be sold, but the LLC may 
assign its credits to an affiliate. 

TELEVISION/INTERNET PROJECTS Q & A 

Q: Can I submit an application for a pilot even if it’s cast-contingent?  
A: The regulations require that a pilot must have a pick-up order to qualify. 

Q: The script supervisor’s lined script is now a requirement that must be submitted 
with final documentation. For a TV series, how many episodes of the script 
supervisor’s lined script are required? 

A: When submitting final documentation, a copy of the lined scripts for episodes #2 
and #5 must be included.  

Q: Could a Movie of the Week or mini-series fall under an independent film even if 
it’s TV?    

A: Independent films require a running time of at least 75 minutes or more with a 
minimum budget of $1 million dollars. The Movie of the Week category  has been 
eliminated; projects with running times of at least 75 minutes may apply as either 
a non-independent feature or an Independent Film.   A limited series falls under 
the TV category and is only open to Non-Independents.   

 
Q: If we apply as a pilot and the pilot is selected, would we need to apply separately 

for the series, (assuming we get a pick-up order)? 
A: Yes, you would need to apply for the series with a separate application during a 

TV allocation period.  A series based on a pilot in the program will get priority 
over new applications in the selection process. 

Q: If we shoot a pilot here in CA, can we apply for Season 1 as a “New TV” project 
even if that original pilot was not in the program? 

A: Yes, the tax credit program considers a “pilot” as its own type of production, and 
therefore a series from a pilot may apply for the program regardless of having 
shot the pilot in the state. 
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Q: How would a mid-season additional episode order be treated?  Let’s say there is 
a 10-episode order that qualifies for credit, then mid-season more episodes are 
ordered? 

A: Television producers can apply for tax credits for additional episode orders in the 
TV allocation period prior to when the producers anticipate filming of the 
additional episodes. A Credit Allocation Letter will not be issued until a pick-up 
order is confirmed.  As a recurring TV series, the additional episode order will 
have priority over new applicants. 

 
Q: What about season to season?  Does a TV production have to resubmit every 

year for consideration for continued tax credits or is there an incumbency 
provision? 

A: There is an incumbency provision, but producers must confirm the project is 
returning prior to the TV allocation period and a new application submitted. Tax 
credits will be reserved but a Credit Allocation Letter will not be issued until a 
pick-up order has been received.  Any recurring television series that has not 
supplied a pick-up order within 140 calendar days of the CAL date for the 
allocation period for which it submitted an application will be removed from the 
queue and may reapply during the next television allocation period. 

 
Q: Are copyright forms required for each episode of a series? 
A: Proof of copyright registration (Form PA) for at least one episode per season is 

required.  
 
Q:  What about back-end episodes? They have a separate credit allocation letter and 

Agreed Upon Procedures. 
A:  No, if you’ve submitted for an episode from the first batch, that will suffice for the 

entire elongated season.  Given that the pickup order episodes are from the 
same season as the original series order, a submission of any episode within the 
same season will qualify for this requirement when submitting documentation for 
the pick-up order episodes 

Q:  Does the copyright have to be in the applicant’s name, or can it be in anyone's 
name?  

A: There is no stipulation in the statute that the applicant be the copyright owner.  
Proof of copyright registration for the project is all that is required. 

 
Q: We have a straight-to-series show.  We plan to shoot an enhanced first episode.  

Do the extra days for that episode qualify? 
A: Yes, an enhanced episode 1 is allowed.  The additional costs for the enhanced 

episode 1 should be specified as line items in the amortized budget. 
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Q: Returning TV series and series based on a TV pilot that were accepted into the 
program have priority in subsequent seasons.  How is that priority determined? 

A: TV series approved and accepted into the program prior to January 2016 will be 
prioritized by the year of original application with the earliest allocation periods 
having priority.   For example, a series that applied and was accepted during the 
May 2015 application period would have priority over a series that applied in 
November 2015.  Both would have priority over a series that received a Credit 
Allocation Letter after January 1, 2016. 
 
TV series approved and accepted into the program after January 1, 2016 will 
receive priority placement based on the fiscal year of original credit allocation 
(CAL). 
 
When a company receives a CAL for a pilot, and that pilot is picked up, the series 
will have the same priority as a returning series according to the rule described 
above.  Assuming other series have a similar priority, the Jobs Ratio ranking 
would be used (if necessary, when oversubscribed) to determine which series will 
receive credits. 
 
TV series accepted into Programs 1.0  and 2.0 are grandfathered into Program 
3.0 and have priority over series in Program 3.0. 

RELOCATING TV Q & A 

Q: My TV series is moving from out of state.  Is there a form for the relocation 
statement? 

A: All relocating series applicants must submit a letter on letterhead stating that the 
tax credit provided is the primary reason for relocating.  A Detailed Narrative 
Statement is not required if submitting this document. 

Q: If my TV series films 6 episodes out of state, can I then apply to the program as a 
relocating TV series for the remaining 5 episodes? 

A: A TV series "season" is defined as a minimum of 6 episodes. However, 
the  statutory requirements for Program 3.0 have this added provision: The 
Applicant must state that at least 75 percent of principal photography days of its 
most recent season was filmed outside of California. Therefore, you would need 
to have shot at least 75% of your season outside of CA before you could apply as 
a relocating TV series.  
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Q: If our pilot was shot outside CA and we wanted to bring the series back to LA, 

would that be considered a relocating series? 
A: To qualify as a television series that relocated to California, the television series 

must meet the following criteria: 
• Provide a certification (statement) from the applicant that the tax credit 

provided is the primary reason for relocating to California. 
• Produce episodes of any program length, filmed at least 75% of its most 

recent season outside of California, and have a minimum production budget 
of one million dollars ($1,000,000) per episode. 

A television season is defined as follows: “Television Season” means the initial 
exhibition of a set of interrelated new television episodes lasting no less than six 
(6) episodes and no more than thirty (30) episodes within a period of twelve (12) 
months. 
 
Therefore, a proposed series based on an out-of-state pilot would not qualify as a 
relocating series.  It must be a series that has shot a minimum of 75% of its most 
recent season out of state.  

JOBS RATIO & BONUS POINTS Q & A 

Q: Why doesn’t the contingency count toward the Jobs Ratio calculation? 
A: Contingencies are not included in the Jobs Ratio calculation since they are funds 

that may not be spent and it is difficult to estimate wage vs non-wage. Also, 
many projects do not include contingencies. 

Q: I need clarity on the Jobs Ratio penalty.  
A: If the CFC determines that the Jobs Ratio has been reduced by more than 10%, 

the credit will be reduced by an equal percentage, unless the qualified applicant 
demonstrates reasonable cause exists for the reduction.   

If the Jobs Ratio has been reduced by more than 20%, the CFC shall not accept 
an application from that company’s entire combined reporting group for one year 
from the date of determination.  
 

Q: When calculating the Jobs Ratio, can items like fringes, meal penalties, car 
allowances, box rentals, cell phone allowances and per diems be included as 
qualified wages? 

A: The Budget Tagging and Tracking Tips 2.0 defines what can be considered wage 
and non-wage. Of the items you listed, all are considered a qualified wage.  This 
applies to qualified labor only. 
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Please note that in Program 3.0, Housing and Living Allowance should be split. 
Housing allowance is QE; Living allowance is QW up to guild or state per diem 
rates. 

Q: Do pension and health payments and California state income tax withholding 
count as qualified wages in the Jobs Ratio calculations? 

A: Pension and Heath payments qualify.  FICA, FUI, Medicare FUTA and California 
solvency tax do not. 

 Q: When calculating the Jobs Ratio (on both the initial and final application), would 
we ignore the $100 million cap and calculate the Jobs Ratio based on the entire 
$130 million?   

A: The Jobs Ratio calculator is programmed to limit the amount of tax credits 
allowed based on the qualified expenditure caps for indies and non-indies. Tax 
credits for independent productions will cap out at $10 million qualified spend and 
non-independents at $100 million qualified spend (excluding uplift tax credits). 

UPLIFTS Q & A 

Q: Does a camera package which will be rented in Los Angeles, but brought to San 
Francisco for our production, qualify for the 5% uplift? 

A: No.  Tangible personal property used outside the Los Angeles zone must be 
purchased, rented or leased from a vendor through an office or other place of 
business outside the Los Angeles zone to qualify for an uplift. 
 
An “Outside Los Angeles Zone Vendor” is a supplier in the State which maintains 
an office or place of business outside the Los Angeles zone and is registered or 
qualified with the California Secretary of State; or is required to file a return with 
the California Franchise Tax Board under Parts 10 or 11 of the Revenue and 
Taxation Code and employs one or more full time employees; or is a sole 
proprietor working at the place of business outside the Los Angeles zone.  Pass-
through businesses do not qualify as an “Outside Los Angeles Zone Vendor” 
(Items purchased out of state which are shipped to fulfillment centers do not 
qualify). 

Q: Independent films already eligible for a 25% tax credit are not going to get 30% 
with the uplift, correct? 

A: Independent films and relocating TV series do qualify for a 5% Local Hire Labor 
uplift. 
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Q: Visual effects:  Do all wages and non-wage expenses credited to VFX, including 
practical shooting costs, qualify for the uplift?  

A: The visual effects (VFX) accounts which qualify for the uplift are mainly those 
concerning third party vendors providing CG asset creation.  
 
VFX Digital Artists and VFX upper management staff (as indicated on the 
Qualified Expenditure Chart) who are hired directly by the production company 
do qualify and would be tagged as QW (qualified wage) and VU (VFX uplift).   
 
Vendor payments may be split 70% Wages (QW) and 30% Non-wages (WE). 
The qualified expenditure charts indicate those VFX expenditures that qualify for 
the VFX uplift and for VFX bonus points (they are the same accounts).  
 
There is a minimum spend provision for VFX uplifts of $10 million (for all qualified 
VFX expenditures) OR 75% of all worldwide VFX are performed in California. 

Q: Do visual effects expenditures qualify for uplift during prep and post-production 
periods? 

A: VFX expenditures which are indicated on the Qualified Expenditure Charts as 
qualifying for the uplift (with VU) qualify during prep, shoot, and/or post. 

Q: Is motion capture work considered VFX? 
A: Not for purposes of the 5% uplift or bonus points. However, they should be 

included when calculating the percentage of VFX work incurred in California. 

Q: Since the tax credit for non-indies is based on a cap of $100 million in qualified 
expenditures, is that inclusive of any uplifts? 

A: The statute allows an aggregate amount not to exceed 5% of the qualified 
expenditures with respect to tax credits above the $20 million-dollar cap, which 
means a non-indie could receive up to $25 million in tax credits. 

 
Q: Do 2nd/Stunt/VFX unit expenditures count for the 5% Out of Zone (OZ) uplift?  
A: Wages for work performed out of the zone and tangible personal property 

purchased or rented and used out of the zone are eligible for the uplift for both 
principal photography and additional units. Verification, utilizing sufficient 
documentation, payroll records, call sheets, timecards, etc., will be necessary. 
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Q If we hire a vendor in San Francisco to shoot miniatures, will these days qualify 
as principal shoot days and the costs eligible for the 5% uplift? 

A: Principal photography days involve the principal director and usually the lead 
actors, so a miniature shoot carried out by a vendor would not qualify as principal 
photography.  If you contract with an out of zone vendor to perform services out 
of the zone, payments to that vendor would qualify for the uplift. Since the 
miniatures would not be considered a consumable, the tagging would be ZE. 

  OUT OF ZONE Q & A  

Q: Our crew is building a set outside of the zone that will be used inside the zone.  
Does the labor and set qualify for uplift?  Are the meals we serve eligible for 
uplift? 

A: The labor working outside the zone is eligible for uplift and should be tagged QW, 
ZW.  Since the set will not be used outside the zone, it is not eligible for uplift and 
should be tagged QE.  If the meals are purchased and consumed outside the 
zone, they can be tagged QE, ZC.  If labor to provide those meals takes place 
out of zone, it can also be tagged QW, ZW. 

Q:  I understand that for non-independent productions there is a 5% uplift for 
shooting out of the studio zone. How is the studio zone defined? 

A:   Please utilize this link to view the studio 
zone:  http://film.ca.gov/locations/interactive-map/.   It also contains a secondary 
zone; however, for purposes of the uplift, the tax credit program only recognizes 
the studio zone – not the secondary studio zone.  Please note the exceptions to 
the indicated zone. 

Q: Does the extra 5% for outside the 30-Mile Zone apply to projects shot in San 
Francisco? 

A: It applies to qualified expenses purchased or rented and utilized in San Francisco 
related to the applicable period:  prep, shoot and strike outside the Los Angeles 
zone. 

Q:         Do permit fees for outside the zone locations qualify for the uplift?  
A:         Permit fees for outside the zone locations paid to offices outside the zone do 

qualify for uplift.  However, if the vendor is within the Los Angeles zone – it does 
not qualify for the uplift. 
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Q:         We are using an in-zone vendor to coordinate an outside-the-zone shoot.   Do 
wages and service fees paid for the outside the zone work qualify for the uplift?  

A:         No.  Since the vendor is within the Los Angeles zone all expenditures are 
considered inside the zone and are tagged QE. 

Q: If we park the crew inside the zone and shuttle them out to the location every 
day, is that still considered outside the zone spend for those shooting days?  I’m 
unsure because the website says that if a day is split between places in and 
outside the zone that you have to start outside the zone.  In this instance, my first 
shooting location would be outside the zone, but their report to location would be 
inside the zone.   

A: As long as the main unit’s first scene of the day is filmed outside the zone, it will 
qualify as an out of zone principal photography day. 

Q: Does 2nd unit work count as one day out-of-zone (OZ) or are OZ days only for 1st 
unit work that starts the day OZ?   

A: Only 1st unit principal photography days count toward OZ bonus point days. OZ 
principal photography days must begin with filming the first scene of the day OZ 
to qualify. 

Q: Do we need to shoot the full day out-of-zone to qualify for the uplift? 
A: No, but the first scene of the day must be at the out of zone location. 

Q: If we travel the crew to an out-of-zone location and shoot on the same day, would 
the day still count as an OZ day (even though some of the day was travel)?   

A: Travel salaries out of the zone count toward the 5% uplift. You would need to 
shoot the first scene of the day the same day you travel to have that day count as 
an OZ principal photography day. Travel to an out of zone location without 
shooting still counts towards the 5% uplift – just not as a principal photography 
day OZ. 

Q: If we purchase lumber out of zone, bring it into the zone to build the sets and 
then bring the sets out of the zone to shoot, can we qualify the lumber towards 
the 5% uplift? 

A: The lumber would qualify for the uplift; the labor to build the sets in the zone 
would not. 
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Q: Regarding tagging for out of zone expenditures, what is the difference between 
ZE and ZC? 

A:   Outside the L.A. zone consumables (ZC) are non-wage purchases or rentals 
outside the zone used or consumed only outside the zone.  These may include 
fuel, security personnel hired through a security company, dry cleaning, food, 
hotel rooms, as well as equipment rented out of the zone and used solely out of 
the zone (please refer to Appendix A of the Guidelines for a list of zone 
consumables). Outside the zone expenditures (ZE) are items purchased or 
rented outside the zone and used both in the zone and outside the zone.  For 
example:  if you are shooting in San Francisco and rent your equipment in S.F. 
but also use it in Los Angeles, the equipment rental would be tagged ZE, as it will 
be prorated based on the number of principal photography days both in and out 
of the Los Angeles zone. 

Q: Does the out-of-zone uplift apply to sales taxes on items purchased and used out 
of the zone? 

A: Yes, for any expenditures eligible for the out of zone uplift. Totally consumed 
items, along with the sale tax, should be tagged QE/ZC; all other out of zone 
purchases with sales taxes should be tagged QE/ZE. 

Q: Do car allowances for out-of-zone labor qualify for the uplift? 
A: Car allowances paid to qualified out-of-zone labor does qualify and would be 

tagged QW/ZW.  If it is for a car that is rented from an out-of-zone vendor and 
used both in- and out-of-the-zone, it would be tagged QE/ZE.  If it is used only 
out of the zone, it would be tagged QE/ZC.  

Q:  If a location scout starts inside the zone, scouts outside the zone, and then 
returns inside the zone at the end of the day, do her wages qualify for the OZ 
uplift? 

A: The time which the scout spends working out of the LA zone would qualify for the 
5% uplift assuming it is related to filming outside the zone (during prep/shoot/or 
strike). The scout’s wages for the hours spent out of the zone would garner the 
5% uplift.  Travel day salaries count toward the 5% uplift to and from the zone 
(when flying). When driving, the uplift begins out of the zone and ends upon 
return to the LA zone.  It is not a principal photography day out of the zone 
unless the company has filmed the first scene of the day out of the zone. 
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Q: For an individual who is hired from out of state with a box rental, but works in San 
Francisco, is their box ZC (like outside the zone residents would be), QE (like LA 
residents who bring their boxes), or NQ because they're from out of state? (The 
boxes will be used solely outside the zone in San Francisco, and not in Los 
Angeles. When used out of state, they are XX. 

A: The statute says the item must be purchased or rented and used in California to 
be qualified. As this person is from out of state, unless s/he can prove that the 
contents of the box rental were purchased in the state, it would not qualify. 

 

LABOR Q & A  

Q: Do productions have to be signatories to Unions, IA, Teamsters, SAG, DGA, 
WGA? 

A: No, there are no Union or Guild requirements. 

Q: Does the crew have to be California residents? 
A: No.  There is no residency requirement. 

Q: How do we get the uplift for hiring local labor? 
A: Local Hire Labor should be tagged QW, LW to get the 10% uplift for Non-

Independents and 5% for Independents and Relocating Television.  A California 
Driver license or CA ID and a Utility Bill dated within 3 months prior to 
employment start date, indicating an outside the L.A. zone address will be 
required for the extra tax credits.  

Q: The line producer is also the UPM.  Will her wages qualify? 
A: Producer hyphenates (ATL/BTL functions) are allowed a maximum of $100,000 

exclusive of fringes, box rental, etc. in the UPM category; the rest of her salary is 
not a qualified expenditure.  With respect to ATL/BTL positions in other 
departments, the BTL salary and rentals must be commensurate with that of 
other department heads at the project’s budget level. The BTL function must be 
credited for the BTL salary to qualify.   

Q:   Is a box rental or car allowance eligible for producers? 
A: If qualified hyphenate, the rate equal to other department heads would be 

eligible.  Otherwise, it would not qualify. 
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Q: If we outsource set construction to a company that breaks out labor versus 
materials, does the labor qualify as labor or expenditure? 

A: In order for an expenditure to be considered qualified wage, the wage must be 
paid directly by the production company or its payroll company.  Wages paid by a 
vendor are qualified non-wage. 

Q: Are dancers considered qualified labor? 
A: Yes, if they are paid under a background actor contract; if they are paid under a 

SAG/AFTRA talent contract, they are considered performers and do not qualify. 

Q:  Are the payments to Extra Casting Agencies (a percentage of the moneys paid to 
the background players) properly included as fringes? 

A: NO. This must be shown as a line item and tagged QE. 
  
Q: One of the shows we are working on had to pay penalties related to late payroll 

for several SAG extras. Should this be tagged QW or NQ?  
A: NQ. We liken it to union grievances, which are also NQ.  
 
Q: When we were shooting in a water tank, we had our stunt riggers working in the 

water, helping to pull the on-camera stunt person through the water. They were 
never on-camera, however, they were paid stunt adjustments due to working in 
the water.  Would I be able to count those stunt adjustments as qualified spend 
since they were provided to qualified labor? 

A: Yes. 

TRAVEL Q & A 

Q: I understand that airfare outside of California does not qualify.  What about travel 
day salary payments to qualified crew? 

A: Travel day payments to crew flying out of or into California are not considered 
qualified expenditures. 

Q: For intrastate airfare, for example Burbank to Sacramento, do we need to 
purchase tickets through a California travel agent for it to qualify, or can we 
simply purchase tickets from the airline, Southwest for example? 

A: Airfare, ancillary charges, and agency fees qualify when purchased from a 
California travel agency for intrastate travel. Adversely, if you purchase a flight 
from an airline’s website, this cost would not qualify. 
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Q: For intrastate flights, if the airfare or luggage fee was purchased via a show 
purchasing card or a personal credit card, would that travel-related cost qualify 
based on the fact that the cost was absolutely a California expense? 

A: As long as the airfare was purchased from a CA travel agency/agent for travel 
within California, ancillary fees would also qualify. The use of a company or 
personal credit card will require the CPA performing the audit to request multiple 
statements to make sure that the airfares were not refunded at some future date 
(unless there are boarding passes to provide proof that the airfare was utilized), 
or they may look for credits in the ledger. 

 
Q: Do payments to Airbnb for accommodations qualify? 
A: Yes.  In Program 3.0 Airbnb costs qualify. 

BUDGET/TAGGING/AUDIT Q & A 

Q: The Application form says to submit a budget of “qualifying expenditures.”  
What’s that? 

A: The budget of qualifying expenditures is a budget in industry-standard format 
which includes only those line items which the state of California considers 
qualified wages and expenditures (see the Qualified Expenditure Chart.)    
 
Please also refer to the Expenditure Tracking Tips 3.0 for a full explanation as to 
how to create a qualified budget.    

 
In addition, there is a tutorial on our website that will help guide you through the 
tagging process. 

Q: Do I have to use the same Chart of Accounts (template) as the CFC qualified 
expenditure charts? 

A: No, but please refer to the chart to be clear what are qualified expenditures.   

Q: What if the director also performs a key BTL function, such as DP or editor?  
Would the salary qualify? 

A: The BTL salary would be considered a qualified expenditure within the bounds of 
either industry standard rates or on par with other key crew members on your 
production, whichever is the lesser of the two. 

Q: Do preview costs qualify? 
A: No.  Items such as preview travel, screening room rentals, projectionist, audience 

recruitment costs, focus group costs and any additional labor (outside of the 
normal picture and sound editorial crew) do not qualify. 

http://film.ca.gov/wp-content/uploads/3.0-QEC.pdf
http://film.ca.gov/wp-content/uploads/3.0-Tracking-Tips.pdf
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Q: The production paid $10,000 to the bank lender toward legal fees.  Is this 
qualified?   

A: No.  Legal fees related to financing, distribution, litigation, or marketing are not 
qualified. However, all other legal fees paid to a CA based attorney are qualified. 

Q: Are internet purchases permitted? 
A: Yes, with qualified back-up receipts verifying the item was purchased in 

California from an in-state California vendor and shipped from a California 
location. 

Q: In regards to vendors that have a presence in California, like Staples, but their 
billing comes from another state, will they qualify for the California tax credits?  

A: Yes.  The definition of an in-state vendor “…is a vendor or supplier which has an 
office or other place of business in California and is registered or qualified with 
the California secretary of state or is required to file a return with the California 
Franchise Tax Board under Parts 10 or 11 of the Revenue and Taxation Code.”  
To check if a company is registered with the Secretary of State, use this link: 
http://kepler.sos.ca.gov/.  Here are the guidelines: 

• Goods purchased or rented from an out-of-California business that is 
registered to do business in California qualify, as long as those goods are 
rented or purchased in California. 

• Internet purchases from on-line vendors such as Best Buy or Staples which 
have physical stores in California qualify as long as the goods are purchased 
in California (shipping label verification). 

• Goods purchased on-line that are shipped from a California fulfillment center 
(e.g., Amazon) would not qualify, as a fulfillment center is considered a “pass 
through business”. 

 
Q: The California Healthy Workplace Family Act requires employers to provide paid 

sick leave to employees. Will those days be considered as qualified wages? 
A: Yes.  The sick days taken must be indicated on the timecard as well as listed on 

the daily production report to qualify. Sick day pay is not, however, allowed when 
applying for the tax credit  (except recurring TV series) since it may not be paid. 
Please bear in mind that this requirement only goes into effect after the employee 
has worked at least 90 days on the production. 

Q: Are Promo Dubs eligible? 
A: No.  Publicity-related costs do not qualify. 

http://kepler.sos.ca.gov/
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Q: Does the contingency have to be included in the budget or can we add 10% of 
the QW/QE to the application only? 

A: Your submitted budget may include a contingency as a contractual charge on the 
top sheet of your budget (not a line item).   

Q: We will be broadcasting our show live.  How do we deal with the final element 
date and letter requirement? 

A: Since your final element will be created at the time of the live broadcast, the date 
of airing will be the date used for final element creation.  A letter from the 
producer stating that the final element was created during the broadcast will 
suffice; the letter must include the initial airdate.  

Q: If we are using a church for a location does the fee qualify?  
A: If a location fee is paid, and there is a location agreement, and the production is 

actually utilizing the location in CA, it would qualify. There is no restriction on 
paying non-profits. However, if the money is paid strictly as a donation, then it 
would not qualify. 

 
Q: Are charitable donations qualified?  
A: No, as there is no tangible personal property rented or purchased in the state. 
 
Q:  If a production donates an asset at the end, do they still get the 20% tax credit? 
A: If an asset is donated so that it constitutes a charitable contribution, it would not 

qualify for a tax credit. 
 
Q:  When calculating the 75% test for the CA VFX uplift, are 3D Post-Production 

amounts included in the numerator?   
A:   As 3D is a type of distribution format, the only uplift for processes in your listing 

would be VFX vendor costs for 3D elements.  (See next page for a sample list of 
3D Post-Production account numbers and descriptions.) 
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Q: On live shows, do Technical Directors qualify?  
A:  Yes, they act under the direction of the director, like assistant directors. 
 
Q:  Are there incentives given for a production that is ONLY doing post-production in 

California? 
A: No.  However, almost all post-production expenses are eligible for incentives for any 

project that has qualified for a tax incentive. 
 
Q: Do stage holding fees qualify for the incentive? If so, is there a cap on the 

qualifying amount? 
Also, if the fees were incurred 30 days after the final element would they be a 
qualified expense for the following season assuming we received our CAL? 

A: Stage hold fees qualify within the qualified period, so as long as the fees are 
incurred as of the date of the CAL (or prorated as of the date of the CAL) and no 
more than 30 days after creation of the final element.  
If the CAL for your next season is dated after the 30-day final element deadline 
for the previous season, there will likely be a gap in terms of “hold” fees that are 
not covered by either CAL.   However, if there is overlap, then the following 
season’s CAL could pick up the hold fees within its qualifying period. 

 
 
 



California Film and TV Tax Credit Program 3.0 
 

Frequently Asked Questions 
July 2020 

 

20 
 

The cost of the stage hold fees are all within the CAL amount, so if you have 
enough budgeted to cover those hold fees within the qualifying period, the hold 
fees will be covered. 

  
Q We incurred charges prior to the CAL date for services that will be 

rendered after the CAL date. Will those charges qualify? 
A:   Services rendered during the qualified period qualify; services/costs incurred 

prior to CAL issuance do not qualify, with the exception of office/stage rentals, 
completion bonds, and insurance premiums, which may be pro-rated.  

CAREER READINESS Q & A 

Q:  How do we find interns, instructors, or schools which want to participate in the 
Career Readiness requirement? 

A: The CFC has a database to help match productions with nearby schools, 
teachers, and students.  Producers can also call the CFC to inquire if we have a 
contact for schools or career-based learning programs that they wish to work with 
and/or are in the area in which the production is filming. 

Q: Does a production have to use the CFC list to acquire interns/teachers to fulfil the 
career readiness program, or are we able to look for our own? 

A: The production does not have to use our list, but we would need you to provide 
us the information for the California high school, community college (no 4-year 
colleges)  or career-based learning    program that you will be using so we can 
confirm it conforms with our program requirements. Any interns employed on 
the production must be over 18 years old. 

 
Q: Our production wants to make a financial contribution – how do we do that? 
A: The Career Readiness website has a section for financial contributions which 

includes forms and copies of W9 forms for both the high school and community 
college funds that will be receiving the contributions. Be sure to go to the 
individual websites for either the high schools or community colleges for more 
detailed information. The filled-out form and check should be mailed to one of the 
funds listed. The check should indicate the contribution is for the Career 
Readiness program and receipt requested for submittal to the CPA performing 
the Agreed Upon Procedures. 
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Q: We would like to hire interns for a craft position (grip/electric/sound/camera/etc.). 
Is it necessary to notify the unions? 

A: Yes, when hiring interns in these categories, productions must contact the 
prevailing union to inform them of the names and dates when interns will be on 
set. Union crew members may not understand the situation and notify their 
unions that non-union workers are on set. 

Q: If we hired paid interns for the Career Readiness requirement, is the salary 
qualified? 

A: Yes.  In Program 3.0 the salary of paid interns qualifies for a tax credit. 

Q: Can we use an intern as a production intern? Can they make runs?  
A: The intent of the Career Readiness Program is for the people involved to be 

exposed to jobs in the Industry and to learn. They should not be making 
deliveries and pickups. Such tasks are not considered learning experiences and 
would not satisfy the Career Readiness requirements. 

Diversity Requirement Program Q & A 

Q: Is every applicant required to submit a summary of its voluntary programs to 
increase representation of women and minorities? 

A: Yes, unless the applicant is an Independent Film with qualified spend budget of 
$10 million or less. 

TAX CREDIT USAGE/TRANSFER Q & A 

Q: Is there a list of available qualified California companies who can broker the tax 
credits? 

A: A list of tax credit buyers and brokers is available upon request. 
 
Q: Can the tax credit be used by a company with the same ownership as the 

production company? 
A: Affiliated companies may utilize the tax credits. 
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UTILIZATION OF TAX CREDITS 
FOR JAN. 1, 2020 THROUGH DEC 31, 2022 
 
Q:  Does the cap of $5million per fiscal year apply to income taxes at the combined 

reporting group level? 
A:  Yes, for buyers of both Independent and Non-Independent project credits.   

 

Q:  Does the cap of $5million per fiscal year apply to sales and use taxes at the 
combined reporting group level? 

A:  Yes, but only for Non-Indies, as Independent project credits cannot be used 
against sales and use tax liability.   

 
Q:  What else do I need to know? 
A:   For corporation and personal income taxes, the cap is for taxable years between 

Jan. 1, 2020 and Dec. 31, 2022. 
 

For sales and use taxes, the cap is for any return filed between Jan. 1, 2020 and 
Dec. 31, 2022, with the exception that any elections made prior to the enactment 
of this proposal are not limited to the $5million cap. 

 
Non-Independent taxpayers may elect to utilize $5million in tax credits against 
income tax liability and an additional $5million against sales and use taxes in the 
same year. 

 
Q:  How does the cap on tax credit usage affect the carryover of film tax credit for 

both Program 2.0 and Program 3.0 projects?  
A:   The Program 2.0 carryover language reads:  

 
(3) In the case where the credit allowed…exceeds the ‘net tax’, the excess 
credit may be carried over to reduce the ‘net tax’ in the following taxable 
year, and succeeding five taxable years, if necessary, until the credit has 
been exhausted. 

 
Translation: Even though the only number that shows up in that paragraph is five, 
the number of carryover years is “five plus the following taxable year,” or 
six.  There is a similar issue with the Program 3.0 language.  
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To be precise, the $5million limitation allows for a carryover extension: 
Program 2.0: Carryover may be extended from six to nine years.  
Program 3.0: Carryover may be extended from nine to twelve years. 
The extension of the carryover period is only for the number of years that 
the credit was limited. So, if a taxpayer has a Program 2.0 credit for 
$15million that they are first eligible to use in 2022, they would be limited 
for only one year.  As such, that credit would be allowed an additional year 
of carryover.   
 

Q: How does this affect credits for entities purchasing credits from Independent 
projects? 

A:    Such companies will have the same limitations as the original recipients when 
they elect to utilize their credits against state income tax liabilities.  

 
 

 


	GENERAL Q & A
	APPLICATION Q & A
	PRODUCTION COMPANY FORMATION Q & A
	TELEVISION/INTERNET PROJECTS Q & A
	RELOCATING TV Q & A
	JOBS RATIO & BONUS POINTS Q & A
	UPLIFTS Q & A
	OUT OF ZONE Q & A
	LABOR Q & A
	TRAVEL Q & A
	BUDGET/TAGGING/AUDIT Q & A
	CAREER READINESS Q & A
	Diversity Requirement Program Q & A
	TAX CREDIT USAGE/TRANSFER Q & A
	UTILIZATION OF TAX CREDITS
	FOR JAN. 1, 2020 THROUGH DEC 31, 2022

